Nashville Love

Welcome to Nashville Love - Your inside track to all the latest in Country Music news!


Randy Owen, Will Jennings, Layng Martine, Jr. and Jeffrey Steele To Be Inducted Into Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame

Posted by Administrator on August 16, 2013 at 9:00 PM Comments comments (0)

Will Jennings, Layng Martine, Jr., Randy Owen (Alabama) and Jeffrey Steele will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in October, according to an announcement made today by the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation (NaSHOF).

The four new inductees will join the 188 existing members of the elite organization when they are officially inducted during the 43rd Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony on Sunday, October 13th at the Music City Center. AT&T will again be a sponsor of the event.

Among all the great songwriters who have put the music in Music City, only a few are elected to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame,” said Pat Alger, chair of the foundation’s board of directors. “This year we are delighted to bestow this honor upon Will Jennings and Jeffrey Steele in the songwriter category; Randy Owen in the songwriter/artist category, and Layng Martine, Jr. in the veteran songwriter category.”

Will Jennings’ songwriter credits include “Up Where We Belong” (Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes) and “My Heart Will Go On” (Celine Dion). Jeffrey Steele’s resume is known for “The Cowboy In Me” (Tim McGraw) and “What Hurts The Most” (Rascal Flatts). Layng Martine, Jr. is the tunesmith behind “Rub It In” (Billy “Crash” Craddock) and “The Greatest Man I Never Knew” (Reba McEntire). Alabama front-man Randy Owen popularized many of his own compositions with the band, such as “Feels So Right” and “Fallin’ Again.”


The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony is one of the music industry’s foremost events of the year. The evening features tributes and performances of the inductees’ songs by special guest artists. In recent years artists such as Garth Brooks, Jimmy Buffett, the Del McCoury Band, Emmylou Harris, Alan Jackson, Toby Keith, Barbara Mandrell, Michael McDonald, Ronnie Milsap, Blake Shelton, Marty Stuart, Taylor Swift, Steve Wariner, Gretchen Wilson and Trisha Yearwood have performed at or participated in the event. During the evening, NaSHOF’s sister organization, the Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI), presents its annual awards for the year’s Best Song, Songwriter and Songwriter/Artist, as well as the Top 10 “Songs I Wish I Had Written,” as determined by the professional songwriters division.

Tickets for the event are $225 each. Seats are available to the public and may be purchased (as available) by contacting event director Mark Ford at [email protected] or 615-256-3354.