Nashville Love

Welcome to Nashville Love - Your inside track to all the latest in Country Music news!


Joe Nichols Hits Hot Gold With "Sunny and 75"

Posted by Administrator on January 11, 2014 at 1:15 AM Comments comments (0)

Joe Nichols’ #1 hit “Sunny and 75” has been certified gold by the RIAA for single sales in excess of 500,000 digital downloads. The song is the lead single from Nichols’ debut RED BOW CD release Crickets.


“Sunny and 75” hit the #1 spot on both the Billboard Hot Country Songs and the Country Aircheck/ USA Today charts in early December. The song is the 4 x Grammy nominee’s fifth #1 single.


“Yeah,” the second single from Crickets, will hit radio on January 27, 2014.

Joe Nichols Soars To #1 At Country Radio With Debut Red Bow Records Single "Sunny And 75"

Posted by Administrator on December 3, 2013 at 11:00 AM Comments comments (0)

RED BOW Records artist Joe Nichols returns to the top of the country radio charts today with his latest hit single “Sunny and 75.” The lead single from Nichols’ new album CRICKETS, reached #1 on both the Billboard Hot Country Songs Chart and the Country Aircheck/ USA Today chart, powered by Mediabase.

The ascension of “Sunny and 75” – Nichols’ debut on RED BOW Records - marks the 4x GRAMMY nominee’s fifth #1 country radio single.

Whether it's your first #1 record or your 50th, seeing your song at the top of the charts never gets old,” said Nichols. “Thanks to the incredible team at RED BOW, everyone at country radio and my incredible fans for making ‘Sunny And 75’ my fifth #1 song. God is good.”

CRICKETS, which debuted in the Top 3 on the Billboard Country Albums Chart in October, has garnered critical praise from the Associated Press to Billboard to The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Next up, Nichols will appear as a presenter on the 4th Annual American Country Awards which airs live from the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas on Tuesday, December 10th on FOX (8 pm ET/ 7 pm CT).

Review: Joe Nichols' 'Crickets' Changes It Up & Wipes The Slate Clean

Posted by Administrator on October 8, 2013 at 2:20 PM Comments comments (0)

Photo: Ann-Marie Hensley

The wait for new music from Joe Nichols is officially over. His latest album 'Crickets' is out now and a must have. It features SIXTEEN, yes sixteen, tracks about love, beautiful girls, trucks, drinking and even bibles. This is the first new music from Nichols in several years but the wait has been well worth it. This is his first album since he changed labels and joined Broken Bow Records.  It's a great compilation of music written by some of country music's best and Joe's timeless vocals are all these lyrics needed. This may not be what the masses are expecting from Nichols, but I feel it is perfect. He has a voice that is clearly recognizable, a sound of his own, and the music he has presented on his latest work shows his ability to take anything and make it his own.  He has changed directions on this album but stays on the right track and is true to himself.  


Nichols says of the new music, "The biggest thing I feel is just that it’s a new day. I’m wiping the slate clean and starting something brand new. I love my old catalog of music – “Tequila Makes Her Clothes Fall Off,” “Brokenheartsville,” “The Impossible,” “Gimme That Girl” and the rest. But I’m starting the first chapter of that new book now. I’m pretty sure it’s got a happy ending, but I also hope there are a few surprises for people along the way." He continues, "I realize there are purists who could be let down by that mindset, and there have been times I have absolutely felt that I was letting people down by trying new things. And, of course, that created massive fear in me that probably led to decisions that hurt my progress. So I’m glad that I now feel comfortable enough in my own skin to know what being true to myself really is. I am true to traditional country music and always will be. I have bled and sweat and cried country music my entire life. And broadening my approach won’t change that one bit. That’s the freedom – to be happy and successful and make music I’m proud of."


Nichols keeps the pace upbeat with most of the songs on the cd. "Hard To Be Cool" is about a beautiful girl. It's an up-tempo song that will have you singing along the first time you hear it. "Just Let Me Fall In Love With You" is yet another great one with contagious lyrics. The lead single, "Sunny & 75" is continuing to climb the charts. A song that Nichols says is "all about reaching a certain state of mind....a modern feeling version of me."  "Gotta Love It" says it all, "you gotta love it when someone you're lovin' is lovin' you right back." There's even a remake of a Merle Haggard tune, "Footlights", originally written and performed by the country legend himself.


'Crickets' gives us some bar room anthems as well. "Y’ant To" is a rockin', party country tune. It's a fun song, "tequialish" per Nichols. He adds, "feels kind of dirty sometimes". "Open Up A Can" is another one that will get you up and moving.


Every song grabbed me for one reason or another, but the one that stands out for me is "Billy Graham’s Bible". Joe's flawless baritone voice sings, "You understand why some things end up right where they were meant to be' Billy Graham's bible, Willie's old guitar and me." Nichols slows down the pace with this one which has a lot of lyrical meaning. It's more of a traditional country song. He speaks of one of the first tracks recorded for this cd, "It fulfills a part of my soul that I have to at least tap into with every album, it's a very traditional country song with a very traditional country lyric and I sang it as country as I possibly could."


This collection from Nichols keeps up with today's country music. Every time I listen to Joe Nichols, no matter what he is singing, I am inspired to sing along. He has that vibe. That voice. That sound. This mostly upbeat cd has a little something for everyone. There are ballads, waltzs, honky tonk tunes and love songs. Nichols' authentic charisma that comes out in his perfect baritone voice has that unmistakable sound that gives every cut what it needs.


For more on Joe Nichols, visit his official website, Follow him on Twitter and Facebook. 'Crickets' is now available in all outlets so go get a copy for yourself and tell us what you think. You won't be disappointed.


Photo: Ann-Marie Hensley  Design: Glenn Sweitzer/Fresh Design

Track Listing:

1. Just Let Me Fall In Love With You

2. Hard To Be Cool

3. Baby You’re In Love With Me

4. Yeah

5. Billy Graham’s Bible

6. Better Than Beautiful

7. Gotta Love It

8. Sunny and 75

9. Y’ant To

10. Hee Haw

11. Love Has A Way

12. Smile On Mine

13. Open Up A Can

14. Old School Country Song

15. Footlights

16. Crickets